top of page



The PetroBowl® competition was founded in 2002, and was created, organized, and administered by the SPE Gulf Coast Section taking place once a year during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE). As its popularity grew, a two stage pilot program was introduced in 2013 to transition the contest into a truly global event. This included two regional qualifiers taking place in Africa and Asia in 2014, and an expansion to six regional qualifiers in 2015. Following the successful completion of the pilot program, PetroBowl is now recognized as an SPE International global program.

Our Story

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette Petrobowl Team placed first in North American and second in the world in 2016 at the International Petrobowl Championship held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The competition had 125 universities from 37 different countries represented.

The competition pits members of Society of Petroleum Engineers student chapters against each other in a quiz bowl format. Participants must answer industry-related questions in a series of rapid-fire rounds.

The members of this world-renowned team were Stephen Au, Benjamin Como, Gordon Guillory, Nicholas Jarrett, and Brandon Salazar (Pictured at Right). The chapter adviser is Dr. Abdennour Seibi, an associate professor of petroleum engineeering.

2018 Team

Anh Le

Bailee Kerner

Benjamin Como (Captain)

Brandon VanAllen

Bryan Holmgren

Damon Emmitt

Gordon Guillory

Jonathan Reyes

Kastan LeBlanc

Reed Williford

bottom of page